Okebiz Video Search

Title:The Beatles - 1964 - Beatles For Sale

Beatles for Sale is the fourth studio album by the English rock band the Beatles. It was released on 4 December 1964 in the United Kingdom on EMI's Parlophone label. The album marked a departure from the upbeat tone that had characterised the Beatles' previous work, partly due to the band's exhaustion after a series of tours that had established them as a worldwide phenomenon in 1964. Beatles for Sale was not released in the US until 1987, when the Beatles' catalogue was standardised for release on CD. Instead, eight of the album's fourteen tracks appeared on Capitol Records' concurrent release, Beatles '65, issued in North America only.

The Beatles recorded the album at EMI Studios in London in between their touring and radio engagements. The songs introduced darker musical moods and more introspective lyrics, with John Lennon adopting an autobiographical perspective in compositions such as "I'm a Loser" and "No Reply". The album also reflected the twin influences of country music and Bob Dylan, whom the Beatles met in New York in August 1964. Partly as a result of the group's hectic schedule, only eight of the tracks are original compositions, with cover versions of songs by artists such as Carl Perkins, Chuck Berry, Buddy Holly and Little Richard being used to complete the album. The sessions also produced a non-album single, "I Feel Fine" backed by "She's a Woman".

Beatles for Sale received favourable reviews in the UK musical press, where it held the number one spot for 11 of the 46 weeks that it spent in the top 20. The album was similarly successful in Australia, where the band's cover of Berry's "Rock and Roll Music" also topped the singles chart. One of the songs omitted from the US version of the album, "Eight Days a Week", became the Beatles' seventh number one in the US when issued as a single there in February 1965.

Track listing
All tracks are written by Lennon–McCartney, except where noted.

Side one
No. Title Lead vocals
1. "No Reply" Lennon
2. "I'm a Loser" Lennon
3. "Baby's in Black" Lennon and McCartney
4. "Rock and Roll Music" (Chuck Berry) Lennon
5. "I'll Follow the Sun" McCartney
6. "Mr. Moonlight" (Roy Lee Johnson) Lennon
7. "Kansas City/Hey, Hey, Hey, Hey" (Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller/Richard Penniman) McCartney

Side two
No. Title Lead vocals
1. "Eight Days a Week" Lennon with McCartney
2. "Words of Love" (Buddy Holly) Lennon and McCartney
3. "Honey Don't" (Carl Perkins) Starr
4. "Every Little Thing" Lennon with McCartney
5. "I Don't Want to Spoil the Party" Lennon with McCartney
6. "What You're Doing" McCartney
7. "Everybody's Trying to Be My Baby" (Carl Perkins) Harrison

According to Ian MacDonald:
The Beatles
John Lennon – lead, harmony and backing vocals; acoustic and rhythm guitars; harmonica; tambourine, handclaps
Paul McCartney – lead, harmony and backing vocals; bass and acoustic guitars; piano, Hammond organ; handclaps
George Harrison – harmony and backing vocals; lead (6- and 12-string) and acoustic guitars; African drum, handclaps; lead vocals on "Everybody's Trying to Be My Baby"
Ringo Starr – drums, tambourine, maracas, timpani, cowbell, packing case, bongos; lead vocals on "Honey Don't"
Additional musician
George Martin – piano and producer


Download Server 1


Download Server 2


Alternative Download :